East Tenn. Pro member Georgiana Vines inducted into Tennessee Press Association 50-Year Club

Georgiana Vines, long-time ETSPJ member and 1992-93 national president of the Society of Professional Journalists, was among five persons inducted into the Tennessee Press Association 50-Year Club on July 22 at the group’s summer meeting in Franklin.

TPA records show that the club was established to coincide with TPA’s 100th anniversary, and recognition spanned from 1969-1971. In 2014, TPA board of directors voted to restore the club, which honors individuals who are still active in the industry and have 50 years or more of service, regardless of the position held within the company.

Fifteen individuals were inducted in 2015, including the News Sentinel’s Charlie Daniel.

Georgiana Vines was the associate editor of Knoxville New Sentinel, (January 2002-February 2005), when she retired. Vines continues to write political columns twice a week and writes other stories on assignment. She also has a monthly feature in Sunday’s Life, “Where Are They Now,” focusing on either retired newsmakers or former newsmakers who have moved from Knoxville.

In December of 204, Vines was appointed Frank Ahlgren Distinguished Lecturer in Journalism and Electronic Media at the University of Tennessee. She has taught public affairs reporting, media management or business journalism classes.

Vines joined News Sentinel as a reporter in 1968 and left in 1996 to be editor of the Herald-Post in El Paso, Texas, until December 1997; the afternoon paper was closed by The E. W. Scripps Co. due to declining circulation. The paper won numerous awards from the Texas APME during 1996-97.

She returned to the News Sentinel as deputy managing editor overseeing business news and community weeklies until being named associate editor in 2002. During her tenure at News Sentinel, Vines was assistant metro editor, 1978-1987; metro editor, 1987-1989; assistant managing editor, June 1989 until December 1995, when named deputy managing editor. Previously, Vines was a newspaper reporter in Miami and St. Petersburg, Fla., and Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Her first job was with the Miami Herald in 1961.


  • 1996 Wells Key winner, highest honor bestowed by national Society of Professional Journalists, for volunteerism and professionalism.
  • 1995 Front Page Follies honoree of East Tennessee Chapter, recognizing journalistic achievements and SPJ activities.
  • 1982, president’s award from East Tenn Pro. Given by Jean Ash, chapter president for protection of First Amendment rights of freedom of the press.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *