Entry Guidelines

Golden Press Card Entry Guidelines

GPC awards information

Our contest is open to journalists working in East Tennessee for daily and non-daily newspapers, other print media, Internet sites and radio and television stations.

We also have categories appropriate for freelance writers who reside in East Tennessee, but whose work appears in outlets with headquarters outside our area.

If you have any questions, please email the GPC Awards Committee.

Current SPJ members get one free entry that must be used for their own work; subsequent entries are $20 each. Fee is $30 per entry for nonmembers.

“East Tennessee” is defined as these counties, essentially from Crossville east to the North Carolina line: Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Cumberland, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Polk, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sevier, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union and Washington.

The GPC has been updated to add some categories in the broadcast and Internet divisions. For the complete list of categories, please click here. You may have more than one entry in a category. Each entry will consist of only one article and segment and will require its own entry form and fee.

Entries are judged by members of an SPJ chapter in another state. Winners will be announced at our awards banquet, tentatively set for Thursday, April 25, 2019.