Our Chapter

The East Tennessee Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (ETSPJ) draws membership from all of East Tennessee and is based in Knoxville.

We are dedicated to the free practice of journalism in the United States and to encouraging and maintaining high standards for ethical behavior. We offer professional support for media practitioners, a regional voice in journalism advocacy, and provide a link for local members to maintain contact with nearly 10,000 SPJ members nationwide.

The area defined as East Tennessee comprises Scott, Morgan, Cumberland, Bledsoe and Hamilton counties and the Tennessee counties east of them which include: Anderson,  Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Polk, Rhea, Roane, Sevier, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, and Washington.

ETSPJ is a four-star (out of 4) chapter and has received a number of national awards, including two 2006-2007 Circle of Excellence Awards in professional development activities and continuing education programs, and in promoting diversity among journalists.  We previously were awarded the Circle of Excellence Award in Professional Development for the 2005-2006 year and the year before that we were named Outstanding Small Professional Chapter for Region 3 and received the Circle of Excellence Award, Small Chapter, for Campus Relations and Scholarship at the 2005 national convention.  We have been recognized as a Four Star Chapter for many consecutive years, continuing a tradition of excellence in achieving all the guidelines National SPJ sets for chapters.